Proposal to shareholders on the composition of Aegon N.V.'s Supervisory Board and Executive Board

The Supervisory Board of Aegon N.V. will propose to shareholders at the Annual General Meeting of Shareholders (AGM) on April 25, 2006 to appoint Mr. Cliff Sobel as member of the Supervisory Board for a four-year term.

Mr. Sobel, of American nationality, was Ambassador of the United States to the Netherlands from 2001 to 2005. Prior to that, he was Chairman of Net2Phone, Inc. Mr. Sobel currently serves on the Board of AlpInvest, Millennium Promise (a foundation organized to support the United Nations Millennium Goals) and on NATO's Mentor's Board.

In addition, the Supervisory Board will propose to re-appoint Mr. Kees Storm as member of the Supervisory Board for an additional four-year term. 

Furthermore, Mr. Peter Voser has decided to step down as member of the Supervisory Board following his nomination as Chief Financial Officer at Royal Dutch/Shell Group of Companies. This will be effective April 25, 2006. The Supervisory Board thanks Mr. Voser for his valuable contribution to Aegon's development.

The Supervisory Board will also propose to re-appoint Mr. Johan van der Werf as member of the Executive Board for an additional four-year term.

All matters mentioned above are contained in the agenda of the AGM 2006, which is available on this site.