Karla Peijs will resign from Aegon’s Supervisory Board

Aegon today announces that Supervisory Board member Karla M.H. Peijs will resign from the Board per September 30, 2013.

Karla Peijs (67), a Dutch citizen, served on Aegon's Board from 1992 until 2003, when she became Minister of Transport, Public Works and Water Management. In 2007 she was re-elected to the Supervisory Board and served on the Board's Compensation Committee and Nominating Committee. She recently retired as Queen's Commissioner for the Province of Zeeland in the Netherlands. She was formerly a member of the European Parliament.

Chairman Robert Routs stated: "Karla has been an outstanding member of Aegon's Supervisory Board and we have benefitted significantly from her career-long involvement in both business and public society. We are particularly grateful for her promotion of high ethical standards in the insurance sector. We thank Karla for her dedicated service during many years."